Currently (1)

currently

“Currently…” is a series I’m picking up from Alice over at a nudge in the right direction which I think originated here.

This is a great series to update what’s “currently” going on in my life – what I’ve been doing, loving and thinking about.


Loving: 

Blogging. I can’t believe I wrote at least once a week in January. Many thanks to The Nerdy Girlie and Super Space Chick for their 5 Fandom Friday prompts. I also have been enjoying reading more blogs on bloglovin. You can see the ones I follow here.

Another thing I’ve been doing and LOVING is taking my journal to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter and writing at the Three Broomsticks. There is a sitting area in the back that has tables with perfect views of Hogwarts. It feels amazing, like I’m a student at Hogwarts especially with my wand and butterbeer at my side. What better place to find some inspiration and magic.

Fit Girl is a healthy lifestyle guide that I’ve been doing for two weeks now. They have different programs the beginner’s is the 28 Day Jumpstart and it includes meal and fitness plans. These are meals you’ll actually enjoy and can easily make. And what’s special about this program is the community. Fit girls are encouraged to support and inspire one another mainly through instagram. I’ve had ups and a whole lot of downs during my first round but this program is so reassuring and hopeful. One of their mottoes is “progress not perfection” and that’s what I’m striving towards.

Reading:

 Pride and Prejudice. This is my fourth reread of Austen’s masterpiece. And it’s making me very nostalgic because my first two reads of the novel happened during two literature courses I studied at university (one being a full on Jane Austen course I know how awesome, right?). Therein began my love affair with her novels. If you’ve been wanting to get into Austen and don’t know which novel to start with, I recommend Pride and Prejudice or Northanger Abbey because it’s on the shorter side of her novels.

Watching: 

The Office. The Office. The Office. And more The Office. I’m half way through season eight so almost done. The Walking Dead is back and oh how I missed the stress. The final season of Bates Motel just started and I can’t wait to see how they end things. Looks like the season might end just before or right after the shower scene in Hitchcock’s Psycho.

Film wise, I am going to try and watch the films nominated for best picture by Oscars Sunday so I can root for my faves.

Thoughts:

Am the only one who felt that January was more exhausting than refreshing? I wanted to kick off the year with energy and motivation but that became difficult because of the daily news I would wake up to everyday since the inauguration. It just seems like everyone is in a tense state. Coworkers, friends, and family can’t bring up politics in fear of being judged one way or another. I’ve been given many eye roles from family when I can’t help but speak out and comment about what’s going on. One family member has even told me I’m being “too liberal.”

Because of this, I’ve been limiting my time on twitter and instagram. And after only  5 days of absence from these social media outlets, I felt so much better. I realize that I shouldn’t make myself blissfully ignorant so I do take the time to inform myself to what’s going on just on less opinionated and enraged outlets. Don’t get me wrong, there is obviously reason to be angry and upset (I’m right there too) it’s just sometimes posts can become so distorted and manipulative that it’s challenging to interpret news your own way. I’m glad and hopeful though, that so many have made it a point to become more aware to what’s going on in the world and using that knowledge to do something about it. It seems that for every discriminatory and unjust action the new administration makes there are so many willing to speak up and challenge him/them for what’s right.

Anticipating:

I’m always looking forward to planning my next Disneyland or Universal Studios trip. I’m an annual pass holder to both and although they have sucked my wallet dry, I’ve been going every chance I get to make it worth it. They’ve become my second and third homes.

Wishing: 

That it was March 16th already so I can see Beauty & the Beast!

Making me happy:

Family, writing and theme parks!


How are you currently doing? What are you loving and thinking about? Let me know or if you have made or plan to make a currently post link me I’d love to read it!

2 thoughts on “Currently (1)

Leave a Reply

